Posted May 22, 2013

Video: Spurs’ Manu Ginobili called for flagrant foul on Grizzlies’ Tony Allen

2013 NBA playoffs, Ben Golliver, Manu Ginobili, Memphis Grizzlies, San Antonio Spurs, Tony Allen

Spurs guard Manu Ginobili was called for a flagrant foul after pulling down Grizzlies guard Tony Allen in transition during the final minute of regulation of Game 2 of the Western Conference finals on Tuesday.

San Antonio, holding a four-point lead, turned the ball over with a little less than 30 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Zach Randolph came up with the loose ball and tossed it ahead to Allen, who had already leaked out behind Ginobili and had a clear path to the basket.

Rather than concede the layup, Ginobili yanked Allen’s left forearm, preventing the conclusion of a shot attempt and sending the All-Defensive first-teamer crashing to the court. There, Allen rolled around and held his head, even though replays indicated that he didn’t hit his head on the court, and the referees ruled that Ginobili was guilty of a flagrant foul 1 on the play.

“It’s such a weird play,” Spurs big man Tim Duncan said afterwards. “It’s a tough play for the officials. I think Tony just tried to sell it more than anything. The ruling is, if he’s in a vulnerable position and they feel that it’s excessive then it’s a flagrant. I thought Manu did the right thing in trying to prevent a layup and you have to let the referees call what they are going to call.”

The flagrant foul helped the Grizzlies turn a two-possession game into a tie game, as Allen hit both free throws and Mike Conley nailed a short jumper to complete the unconventional four-point possession. However, the Spurs ultimately prevailed 93-89 in overtime to take a 2-0 series lead.

4 comments
SkyRobinson
SkyRobinson

The flagrant was called for Ginobli holding Allen down as Allen was already in the air, not for the acting job Allen did. Unnecessary contact.

RicardoMedina
RicardoMedina

Will the league fine Allen for flopping or just let the play stand because they don't want to embarrass the referees?

AllenFlopsAndTrips
AllenFlopsAndTrips

Allen trips Parker on a clear path with no call and now flops for a flagrant on Ginobli; question is, who did he blow to get this preferential treatment?

Mark4
Mark4

@RicardoMedina Hopefully a heavy fine, since the announcers even called him out, and a rescission of the flagrant point against Ginobili.

The initial call was ridiculous.  The fact that they upheld it on review can only be described as grossly incompetent.